College 7s National Championship

USA College 7s: Field set for College 7s National Championship

Field set for College 7s National Championship

Field set for College 7s National Championship BOULDER, Colo. – The teams to assemble in Greensboro, N.C., for the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship have been named. Forty-eight teams in three separate divisions will compete from Nov. 23-24 for a sevens National Championship. During the last seven weeks, teams across the country have been participating in automatic qualifying tournaments. The winners of the automatic qualifying tournaments were each rewarded with an invitation to the College 7s National Championship. The remaining field was awarded at-large selections by USA Rugby’s Collegiate Championship Committee. The Men’s Division I four-pool tournament will consist of 24 teams. Sixteen women’s rugby clubs will vie for a National Championship, while eight of the best teams from the Division II and Small College ranks will compete for the first-ever College 7s National Championship in a Men’s Open Division. JMU pass Highlighting the 2013 field are the Men’s DI Champions from 2011 – Arkansas State – and 2012 – Life University – as well as Norwich Women’s Rugby Club, which took first place at the event each of the past two years. USA Rugby Collegiate Director Rich Cortez is very pleased with the schools competing in this year’s National Championship. “The Championship Committee is thrilled with the team’s who’ve earned their way to Greensboro,” said Cortez. “It’s a very competitive field of schools representing every corner of the country and includes teams that have competed in the National Championships in years past, as well as teams who are making their first appearance at Nationals.” Men’s Division I Air Force Arizona State Arkansas Arkansas State Auburn Cal Poly-San Luis Obispo Central Washington Colorado State Dartmouth Davenport Florida Life Lindenwood Middle Tennessee State Navy North Carolina State North Texas Oklahoma Oregon State San Diego State San Jose State South Carolina Saint Mary’s Texas Women’s Division California Clemson Davenport George Washington Georgia Tech Indiana James Madison Norwich Ohio State Oregon State Penn State Princeton Sam Houston State Stanford Texas Virginia Men’s Open Division Emory James Madison Lafayette New Hampshire Principia Sonoma State UW Stout (Winner of the Southern DII 7s) Seedings will be announced later in the week. For information on the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship, visit Fall tournament recaps are also available on the 2013 USA Rugby College 7s National Championship website: Saint Mary’s College won their host event the Battle in the Bay . The women of James Madison had their way at the NOVA 7s. Arkansas State got their revenge on Life at the South Independent 7s. Principia won the Gateway crown. Central Washington dominated the Northwest field. Cal women took first at Oregon State 7s. Cal Poly were winners at the California State University 7s. Oklahoma swept through the Allied Rugby Conference. The Lady Longhorns won their Conference Championship. Sonoma State were the DII Nor Cal Champions. Air Force qualified by winning the Cougar 7s. The Cardinal 7s was won by James Madison. Texas off to Nationals after their Southwest Conference win. Heart of America was won by Arkansas.

Notice: Undefined variable: meta_text in /home/d51154491/public_html/wp-content/themes/usa-rugby-college-sevens/content-single.php on line 54

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *